Right or Rights

In the last post, I promised to tell a little bit more about me … here it is; I am a 3rd generation military service member, Ranger, Gulf War vet, conservative, business owner who has had to scrap for everything (not literally scrap, but you know what I mean). I’ve worked hard for it; I’ve earned it…it’s my right. I’ve fought for every American’s rights as well. I have fought for the rights of those overseas too. Fighting for our rights is in my blood. All that being said, writing this article was difficult for me to process mentally.

The American society in general, is often litigious and contentious. Most fights break out over our rights or dignity being threatened. The Bible says that there is a higher way. Paul writes to the church in Corinth (1 Cor. 6:7) that we (Christians) are to suffer wrong rather than go to court. I actually have done this exact thing. I had a contract for work that was to be done (a drywall job) and the customer lined out the flat rate that we quoted them and wrote in an hourly amount. Even against our advice, they chose the hourly rate, signed it, dated it, and the contract was done. At the end of the job, using their hourly rate, that they agreed upon, they owned us about $1,200 more than the initial flat rate. That was a hard pill for my brother and I to swallow because they owed us. It was our contracted right to that money … and we let it go. How the viewpoints that I was raised with and what I am leaning now intersect and cohabitate together, I have yet to learn … but I am willing to learn.

Lately with the big influx of chatter concerning our “right to affordable healthcare,” or a new public shooting, it brings up the rights of the people again to a hot button topic of debate. Of course, no rights for the US citizen is clung to more than those found in our Bill of Rights: Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances … even the right of the people to bear arms. Even our Declaration of Independence (the name even insinuates a sense of “rights”), speaks of our rights saying that we are endowed by our Creator with certain unalienable rights, that among these are life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. Personally, I feel that these things lead to a slippery slope to a sense of entitlement. I’ve seen these rights abused to the point of verbal abuse and slander but more than the abuses, I’ve seen those ‘rights’ we may take for granted seep into our churches and Christian faith.

Here are some of the rights I’ve heard people mention when asked what they consider to be their right(s).

  • The ‘right’ for others not to slander our good name
  • The ‘right’ to be biblically ‘right’
  • The ‘right’ to our own home
  • The ‘right’ for personal safety
  • The ‘right’ for affordable healthcare
  • The ‘right’ to be heard
  • The ‘right to bear arms’
  • The ‘right’ to pursue life, liberty, and happiness

I’ve listed a few of the right that other seek or demand. Tell me, what are some of the rights that are important to you?

Until later . . . Jonathan Watson

P.S. To see this series in it’s entirety, click the tag ‘Right or Rights.’ To see a little more about me, click here or about my overall blog, check this out. I love feedback (and work best with lots of it) so, please feel free to REPLY to anything I’ve written. Just scroll down to the “Leave a Reply” box and type away!  Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Right or Rights

Please let me know what you're thinking.

