What’s Your Bible

 

 We all have a bible, of one sort or another, in our toolbox. Personally, I have turned to Chilton’s Auto Manual many times, which I have considered, and many DIYers do also, to be my ‘bible’ for my DIY auto repair. Some people use Haynes as their go to source for their DIY auto projects. Work Instructions are the go to source for any question a person may have concerning my company’s processes. Track & Field News is the self-touted “bible of the sport since 1948.” “The Bible of Body Building” is an online personal trainer app, and “The bible of boxing” contains all things boxing I guess (besides watching the occasional championship, I’m not huge into boxing).

Auto repair, anyone?

Auto repair, anyone? (Photo credit: Manchester Library) A DIYer’s Auto Repair Bible

I guess my point is, depending on where your interests (maybe needs) lie, your ‘bible’ won’t be far away. Now, this post isn’t really about “The Holy Bible,” or whose bible is ‘right’ and whose is ‘wrong.’ However, as I did a little research into this subject, I became increasingly amused by some celebrities’ stances on their personal religion. Now some celebs are brazen about their faith and others are more subdued, but here is what I found:

 

  • ·Top Gun’s Tom Cruise, since his public display of affection for Katie Holmes, he has become the poster child and advocate of the Church of Scientology.
  • ·Tina Turner, queen of rock ‘n’ roll, credits Buddhism with giving her the courage she needed to leave her abusive relationship and survive on her own.
  • ·Camilla Belle is a Roman Catholic.
  • ·The director and actor Tyler Perry, of the Madea films, is a strongly professing Christian.
  • ·NFL quarterback Tim Tebow is a Christian and gained much notoriety for his public display of faith, commonly called “Tebowing“.
  • ·The Kardashian clan pride themselves in being Christian and attending church every Sunday. They also have become recognition for using the word “Bible” instead of the phrase, “I swear.” By the way, that’s a link to their clothing boutique, Dash.
  • ·Patricia Heaton, the former “Everybody Loves Raymond” star, is a devoted Christian.
  • ·Ryan Gosling  the Canadian-born star was raised Mormon.
  • ·Dianna Agron was raised Jewish and she continues to follow the religion.
  • ·Donny and Marie Osmond have big supports of the Mormon faith their entire life.
  • ·The Jonas Brothers are Evangelical Christians and have taken a vow to abstain from premarital sex indicated by their wearing of purity rings on their left-hand ring finger (which I personally applaud any efforts in that direction).
  • ·”I’m a Christian and I pray before every show,” Justin Bieber said concerning his faith. He also has a large visage of Jesus tattooed on his left calf and if that didn’t prove his Christian faith, he also got the name of Jesus (in Hebrew) on his ribcage (a link for those curiosity seekers).
  • ·”God was like, ‘Don’t you understand? I want to love you. I created you. I sacrificed for you’…”, said Debby Ryan about her Christian faith. I’d love to meet Debby … awesome sounding witness!
  • ·Stephen Baldwin is a self-proclaimed “Jesus freak'” and said his life changed forever after he decided to live it in a godly manner.
  • ·Miley Cyrus says she has a strong Christian faith and said she is here to be a light, a testimony.
  • ·Angus T. Jones is a Seventh-day Adventist Christian and said that the show he stars in, on CBS’s, “Two and a Half Men“, goes against his religious upbringing.
  • ·Malcolm X was the public face of the Nation of Islam for nearly a dozen years.
  • ·Ever since Madonna tied a red string around her wrist and signed up as patron saint of the Kabbalah Centre of Los Angeles, the mystical religion has become a popular fad with celebrities.
  • ·Baptized by Jehovah’s Witnesses in 2001, Prince released the album, The Rainbow Children, which relied heavily upon Jehovah’s Witness religious themes.
  • ·Jessica Simpson began her singing career at her local Baptist church and later recorded a gospel music album before breaking into big-time music biz.
  • ·Ashton Kutcher, who has credited his successful marriage to the religion, has been a well-known practicing Kabalarian with wife Demi Moore. Oddly enough though, they are divorced today.
    • Kirk Cameron, who left Hollywood life behind after his run on the ’80s sitcom “Growing Pains,” found Jesus, married co-star Chelsea Noble and raised a family of six kids. Now, he’s an evangelist, co-hosting a show called, The Way of the Master, in which he goes out on the street to talk up God and talk down evolution.

Everyone of those actors and actresses have a reputation (and they all have a ‘bible’). Whether it is the J-Beebs’ bad-boy antics or Miley’s attention-at-any-cost way of gaining popularity … they both claim to be strong Christians. Since I too claim Jesus Christ to be my Lord, I could easily question their faith but that isn’t the point of this post. I really don’t know everything (some, but not all) about Scientology, the Nation of Islam, or what Kabalarians believe but again, I’m not here to pick apart the various belief structures in the world today. Muslins have their Quran. Buddhist have their … well, they don’t have any standard that they rely on. What I mean is, for them, they don’t have a ‘holy’ text that is the equivalent of the Christian’s Bible, the Jew’s Torah or the Muslim’s Quran, which are thought to be the word of God. In Buddhism, there are many sutras, which are simply recordings of teachings given by the Buddha or other Dharma practitioners. The Buddha said that no one should simply believe what he said, but rather the practitioners should each think for themselves and discover the truth through analytical meditation. So basically, you have these teaching you can accept for yourself or not. Jewish people have their Torah and Christians; well you’d expect it to be ‘The Bible.’

 

So, I’ve said several times within this article about what this post is NOT about. It is NOT about slamming one religion while lifting another. It is NOT about embarrassing one faith. It’s NOT about advocating one DIY auto repair manual over the other. It IS about showing a thread, a commonality, if you will, amongst us humans. You see, we all seek to find that ultimate source. It might be the ultimate go to source for boxing. It might be the ultimate go to source for life after death or how we are to live our life while we have a life to live. Nevertheless, we all want that ‘bible’ we can go to and ask the tough questions to and feel confident that we are getting a solid answer. That we can go to our source and base our personal foundation on it we don’t have need of fearing that the answer will crumble in years to come.

 

As I typed that last sentence, it brought to mind a song I used to sing as a child and at the risk of being too open, I’ll share a short personal story with you from when I was about 3 or 4. Since I was an only child growing up, I would have to find ways of entertaining myself. Well, I was also a rather happy lad and many times I could be heard singing or whistling a song. Well this particular day, I was singing the children’s song ‘The B-I-B-L-E’ and as I went about my day playing, I’d whistle that song, sing that song … all day long. Well towards evening, the words of that song caught my attention and it caused me to literally pause and wonder … “what could these words mean?” If you aren’t familiar with the words of this song, I’ll type them out below:

 

The B-I-B-L-E,

 

Yes that’s the book for me,

 

I stand alone on the Word of God,

 

The B-I-B-L-E.

 

 

 

The B-I-B-L-E,

 

Yes that’s the book for me,

 

I read and pray, trust and obey,

 

The B-I-B-L-E.

 

In awe, I stood there (I remember standing in our hallway, somewhat dumbfounded) … “what does that mean?” So gingerly, I snuck in to my parents’ bedroom and around to the far side of the bed where I knew my mother kept her Bible on the bed stand since she read it every morning. I picked up her Bible (old as it was in the tacky protective faux leather brownish zippered cover), laid it on the floor, and stepped up on it with both feet as the words of that song streamed through my mind, “I stand alone on the Word of God, the B-I-B-L-E.”

 

Now, I really hope you aren’t offended by that story. I’ve told some people and they are aghast that I desecrated God’s holy scriptures in this manner. Moreover, no, I would not do it today at my age, my knowledge, and my love of God’s words, but I really am not ashamed of my actions as a 4 year old either. I think it was almost prophetic in some way as today; I do stand on God’s word, and His word “alone.” It is my foundation. It is the love letter my God gave me for how much He loved me. How He was willing to give up His supremely-perfect life in heaven to come to Earth and take on the frail flesh of a human so that he could make a way for me to be in a relationship with God … I love the Bible and more than that, I love the One who wrote it.

 

The Bible is my go-to-source for direction … for hope … for answers … for peace … it’s my source. It is like a map. It isn’t my endpoint, but it points the way so that I can arrive to the desired destination. Tell me, what do you frequent as your source for life’s questions and direction. What do you ‘stand upon’ … what’s your standard, or source, for answers?

 

Until later . . . Jonathan Watson

 

P.S. To see a little more about me, click here or about my overall blog, check this out. I love feedback (and work best with lots of it) so, please feel free to REPLY to anything I’ve written. Just scroll down to the “Leave a Reply” box and type away!  Thanks!

 

 

3 thoughts on “What’s Your Bible

  1. Pingback: URL

Please let me know what you're thinking.

