Fishing

Fishing in The Desert

Fishing in The Desert (Photo credit: Tahir Al Shabibi)

Where have you been fishing? You see, here in Minnesota, the middle of December; it’s beginning to enter into ice-fishing season, for which my second oldest son has been baiting my hook all summer long to go. But for all intense purposes, this post is using the typical understanding of ‘fishing’ … a stereotypically summertime pastime and/or sport. Now, I asked where have you been fishing, but what I could have said is, where have you been finding your stability? Think about the places and people you have gone to for feelings of assurance or acceptance. Maybe you have searched in places you never thought you’d visit, or maybe you are doing things that you’d never have done in a million years before, but something in you can’t help but keep doing so in a desperate attempt to ease your pain.

 

The process of alienation that occurring during difficult times can often destroy a person’s moral values and they end up doing things that they would otherwise never do their whole life. It is common for people to find their ‘stability’ in alcohol, sex, drugs, meanness, or rage, seeking anything or anyone that will make them feel good, even if just for a moment, even to their eventual detriment.

“Finding true love in a bar,” says Dr. Talley, “is like finding fish in the desert. You tend to go to the wrong places first and finally end up in the right places.”

Lately, I’ve been coming to the realization of the power of the U-Turn. It is never too late to change your direction, to change your ways. Your moral value system may be buried, but usually, it is still intact. Start by nurturing your highest priority, your spiritual life. Open up the Bible. Visit a church. If that church doesn’t embrace you, visit another. Cry out to God and He will show you the love you’re longing for and the direction you need. Tell me, what do you to tend to resort to during your hard times?      

Until later . . . Jonathan Watson

P.S. To see a little more about me, click here or about my overall blog, check this out. I love feedback (and work best with lots of it) so, please feel free to REPLY to anything I’ve written. Just scroll down to the “Leave a Reply” box and type away!  Thanks!

4 thoughts on “Fishing

    • Those are wonderful things TwoTwelve. The only thing I could quickly add is friends. For me, in addition to the things you mentioned, I also have found great strength from my friends, or as I refer to them as my Cotter Pins (https://theonlinetoolbox.wordpress.com/2013/11/18/my-2013-thanksgiving-edition-cotter-pins/). Sadly, when I am struggling, I don’t always first open the Bible. Usually, I first pray, talk to others, and they remind me of God’s scriptures. That’s just a little bit of how process my hard times. Thanks for sharing!

      • Yes! Friends are a BIG part!

        Proverbs 18:24
        A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

        Proverbs 27:17 NIV
        As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.

        There are many verses about friendship… Thank you for reminding me of this vital part !

  1. Pingback: Fishing | 2l2phant

Please let me know what you're thinking.

