Nelson Mandela: A Stand Up Kind of Guy

Nelson Mandela statue by Ian Walters, London/UK

Nelson Mandela statue by Ian Walters, London/UK (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Nelson Mandela has become an icon of forgiveness. Imprisoned for over two and a half decades for crimes he didn’t commit, he showed the world how to forgive in the face of persecution. Forgiveness is bestowed upon those that commit an offense toward us. It is always the hope that the one being forgiven is apologetic, but that isn’t always the case, and that is when the forgiver is genuinely tested in their act of forgiveness. In my experience, I see more regret than repentance, but when considering the the forgiven, how often do we see true repentance as opposed to regret? There certainly is a difference; do you typically repent or regret?

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Nelson Mandela: A Stand Up Kind of Guy

    • Hi Lisa … thanks for your input. As we esteem certain individuals in life, it is always important to remember that they are ‘human.’ All to often I slip into the dream world where they are not and I occasionally need to pinch myself back into reality. I’m sure he had his ‘human’ issues like the rest of us but from what I do know of him, he was able to forgive those that unjustly persecuted him for so many years. I am so glad that he didn’t just give up while in prison and once released return to the squalor of his previous life but rather stand for a change in his country and his world. One person can make a difference.

  1. I believe there may be always a degree of regret…..”I should have done this”…”I could have done that”….”I would have said this”…..but for me…..a very large percentage is repentant. When I’m not repentant, but regretful is when I stop putting myself in my hubby’s shoes to understand how he might be feeling as to why he would respond a certain way…it is during these times that I put up a guard and block out the Son and regret starts to grow from the shadows feeding my pride.

  2. Reblogged this on 2l2phant and commented:
    I believe there may be always a degree of regret…..”I should have done this”…”I could have done that”….”I would have said this”…..but for me…..a very large percentage is repentant. When I’m not repentant, but regretful is when I stop putting myself in my hubby’s shoes to understand how he might be feeling as to why he would respond a certain way…it is during these times that I put up a guard and block out the Son and regret starts to grow from the shadows feeding my pride.

Please let me know what you're thinking.

