Polyester & Peroxide

Jurassic Park (film)

Jurassic Park (film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A couple of the elements that I work with on a daily basis is Cadox M-50a Peroxide based initiator and Reichold’s GT-80 Polyester Resin. When I first began my work with these products, I was enamored by the essence of resin as I made a connection in my mind between resin and resonate. I’ve sang songs that speak of resonating with the things of the Lord. Christ for the Nations has an annual worship conference called just that: Resonate. However, depending on which site you look up the word, you get different technical meanings www.dictionary.com has this to say:

Definition of the word ‘resonate’ at Dictionary.com: resonate [ rez-uh-neyt ]verb (used without object)1. to resound.2. to act as a resonator; exhibit resonance.3. to reinforce oscillations because the natural frequency of the device is the same as the frequency of the source.

Word Origin & History of the word ‘resonate’ at Dictionary.com: resonate 1873, from L. resonatum, pp. of resonare (see resonance). Literal at first; fig. sense, of feelings, emotions, etc., by 1978.

Definition of the word ‘resin’ at Dictionary.com: resin[ rez-in ]noun1. any of a class of nonvolatile, solid or semisolid organic substances, as copal or mastic, that consist of amorphous mixtures of carboxylic acids and are obtained directly from certain plants as exudations or prepared by polymerization of simple molecules: used in medicine and in the making of varnishes and plastics.2. a substance of this type obtained from certain pines; rosin.verb (used with object)1. to treat or rub with resin.

Word Origin & History of the word ‘resin’ at Dictionary.com: resinresin 1388, from O.Fr. resine, from L. resina “resin,” from Gk. rhetine “resin of the pine,” of unknown origin. http://m.dictionary.com/etymology/resin

So by definition, it might appear they don’t relate. However as I’ve bridged the two in my mind, if I say that something resonates in my heart, it resounds, it strikes a chord, creates an emotional response, reaction, or emotion … it becomes a part of me or melds with who I am/or becoming. The same is true with the polyester resin and initiator. In and of themselves, as separate elements, they are practically useless but when the one is joined properly with the other, a product with greater potential is formed. They literally become a new compound and it is impossible to separate the two elements back apart, even to the molecular level. Like pine resin, or rosin, it’s sticky and then becomes hard. The 1993 movie Jurassic Park showed us what happens if a mosquito gets trapped in resin … it’s stuck there for ‘life’ or eons to come.

Maybe it’s a far stretch, maybe not, I don’t know but what I do know is that it has left me with many questions time and time again … what resonates with me. That being said, tell me, what verse, song, quote, movie line, parental rant, childhood haunt, etc. has become a part of who you are, shaping and making you into the person, spouse, employee, et cetera you are today? Is that a good thing? Are you happy with where you are? Would you want to be different in any way?        

Until later . . . Jonathan Watson

P.S. To see a little more about me, click here or about my overall blog, check this out. I love feedback (and work best with lots of it) so, please feel free to REPLY to anything I’ve written. Just scroll down to the “Leave a Reply” box and type away!  Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Polyester & Peroxide

  1. You said something in this post that I really liked that you didn’t bring out: ” used in medicine “….when something resonates with us….it speaks to us…as if it were a great friend…which brings about a cheerful heart and as Proverbs 17:22 states “A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.” Great post!!!

Please let me know what you're thinking.

