Lessons Learned from Jennifer Lawrence in Hunger Games: Catching Fire

The Hunger Games (film)

Now I’m wondering … what would have happened if Jennifer Lawrence who (I just have to put this in here is from Louisville, KY) played Katniss Everdeen in Hunger Games: Catching Fire, allowed her aim, her shooting skills to grow dull. Don’t worry about her sharpening her arrowheads because hey, a shaft can be pretty deadly right? Have you ever gone for days or weeks (or months lol) using an old cutting device. Now I’m picturing, if you are anything like me, how I’ve used my blades in my reciprocating saw until the teeth are worn down, rounded, and are ‘cutting’ the material more out of heat induced friction, so it is really like burning through. Obviously this is bad but my need to just get the job done and maybe pulling the saw out to a different portion of the blade trumps going to the store just for that one thing … plus I never remember that one thing when I go to Lowe’s or Home Depot. My reciprocating saw is my ‘use in case of emergency’ tool any I just don’t get into those pinches very often. Now some other things that maybe you allow to get dull…

  • Kitchen knives (I have five kids and my thought is why sharpen them if they are just going to be used as swords),
  • Scissors (when’s the last time you sharpened your scissors),
  • ax/hatchet,
  • Pruning shears,
  • Hedge trimmers,
  • Chainsaw,
  • Drill bits,
  • Circular saw blades (you probably change those out more frequently than you sharpen your scissors, but you get the drift).

There are many lessons I thought of while watching The Hunger Games. I think one of those thoughts is how we, like Katniss Everdeen; need to keep our eye on the prize. Don’t allow ourself to grow weary and slack. Another short thought inspired by the movie, it could be used as a good segue into a lesson/sermon on how God’s word is sharper than any two edged sword Hebrews 4:11-13. I won’t keep you with other thoughts I had concerning the movie due to keeping this post shorter.

Getting back to the point of this post though, what do you need to sharpen in your life? I’m not talking about your steak knives or filet knife but rather what things in your life that need fine tuning and tweaking to ensure a razor sharp form of readiness for battle?

Until later . . . Jonathan Watson

P.S. To see a little more about me, click here or about my overall blog, check this out. I love feedback (and work best with lots of it) so, please feel free to REPLY to anything I’ve written. Just scroll down to the “Leave a Reply” box and type away!  Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Lessons Learned from Jennifer Lawrence in Hunger Games: Catching Fire

Please let me know what you're thinking.

