The Little Red Wagon

 

 

So much depends upon a small red wagon

So much depends upon a small red wagon (Photo credit: exquisitur)

 

Recently I heard a story that brought back a flood of memories of childhood with an adult application. You see, this boy, as I had a wagon. It wasn’t a bright shiny one, it used to be but love and years wore many scuffs that pointed to stories of use (and abuse). Like this boy, I had the tendency to use my wagon for many things … feeding the animals, working in the garden, collecting rocks, hauling all sorts of things that my arms were unable to handle. This boy and his dad were working together, and like normal, the boy had his wagon in tow filled will two 5-gallon buckets of sand for a future sandbox. As the boy and dad were walking to and from the sandpit to the location of the sandbox, they came upon a curb that the boy managed to get the front wheels up and over but found himself hung up on the back wheels. As much as he struggled and strained he couldn’t get those back wheels to roll up over the curb. “Daddy,” he said, “I just can’t get it!” “I understand son, you have to use all of your strength,” replied his father. So the boy grunted some more and the wheels kept slipping back down every time an inch of progress was made. “Daddy, I just can’t do it!” the boy said with frustrated exhaustion. “Son, you aren’t using all your strength.” “But daddy, I am,” as tears began to well up in the boys eyes. “Son,” the father replied, “You are trying as hard as you can, in your own strength, but you are using all the strength you have available to you.” With that, the father bent down and hoisted the wagon up over the curb for his son.

 

Sometimes in life, we have to look to others for their strength … and more often than not, we have to let our heavenly daddy hoist our burdens to that next level for us. We need to yield to His strength and his ways if we are to ever get where He wants us to go.

 

In the next couple of months, I’m scheduled to go on a missions trip to build a church for an expanding ministry. For that trip, I need to pay $1,600.00 plus my personal incidentals. In chatting with my mother-in-law this afternoon, she said, “Well, you could always ask people to give you money” … just like that. That’s a hard pill for me to swallow. It is very humbling asking for money in general when times are tough, let along for a trip that I’m choosing. I’ve asked a couple people if I could work for it, that isn’t quite as humbling, but to outright ask people for $$$, that’s a different story. That’s humbling to a different level. Tell me, what do you find to be the most difficult thing to ask for help for?

 

Until later . . . Jonathan Watson

 

P.S. To see a little more about me, click here or about my overall blog, check this out. I love feedback (and work best with lots of it) so, please feel free to REPLY to anything I’ve written. Just scroll down to the “Leave a Reply” box and type away!  Thanks!

 

 

 

Please let me know what you're thinking.

