Time: The Great Equalizer

Time. Just think about that for a minute. I believe that time is the ‘great equalizer among men.’ This morning, I passed a couple of hunters hurriedly driving to their choice destination. The problem was the sky was just starting to turn. The sky was that faint greenish hue that showed signs of light triumphing over darkness, with its dark gunmetal-blue-silhouetted clouds hanging lifelessly too cold to move. The breeze was crisp and frost clung to everything. The perfect hunting morning. But these fellows should have been in their blinds or tree stands at this point; they were late. But, what made them late? I don’t know that you or I will ever know the answer to that question but regardless, to hunt deer this morning, late they are. Didn’t they have enough time? Sure they did. They had just as much time as you or I. The difference is, what did they choose to do with it. Lately, I’ve been told a few times by the same people how sorry they were for not emailing me back, “I just didn’t have time.” They have been too busy I guess, but it isn’t that they didn’t have time, it’s how they chose to use it.

The Passage of Time

The Passage of Time (Photo credit: ToniVC)

Time is the Great Equalizer. We are all given 24 hours in our day. Nobody is granted that extra 3 hours we all wish we had. Nobody is slighted even one minute in his or her day. We all have 24 hours in our day, 10,080 minutes in our week, and 3,153,600 seconds in our year. The tremendous difference between my days and yours is how we choose to use it.  That is why I am writing about time here … time is the greatest tool, and one of the greatest commodities you will every “own.” For many, time slips through their fingers like smooth sands of an hourglass and when looking back on their day, their weeks, their years, they have nothing to show for it. Others do more in a day than some, in a week. I know a single fellow, who dropped out of college, works a part-time job, appreciates the recreational use of illegal substances, and plays video games the rest of the day. Where does he get the time? I know a single lady who started her own business (a very time intensive business called One Fine Day for event and wedding planning and is growing it successfully), she teaches elementary school, as well as starting a ministry for divorced people … did I mention that she’s also a mother of three young boys? These things are all things that I know about her from a distance … who knows what else she does. Where does she get the time? I know another fellow who works 50-60 hours a week, ministers at his local church, plays racquetball in the evenings, and yet he complains about not having time to clean his house. Where does he get the time?

Question: We all have tools, it’s a matter of how we use them that makes all the difference between a hammer-banger and a skilled artisan. Tell me, how do you use your time? When it comes to time, are you a skilled artisan? What would it take you to improve your time-use skills … more time?         

Until later . . . Jonathan Watson

P.S. To see a little more about me, click here or about my overall blog, check this out. I love feedback (and work best with lots of it) so, please feel free to REPLY to anything I’ve written. Just scroll down to the “Leave a Reply” box and type away!  Thanks!

Please let me know what you're thinking.

