Our Battle

Oftentimes, we are knowingly or unknowingly in a battle in this world; some things you just have to fight for.  I’ve heard the story that Billy Graham has told of a boxer who was engaged in a boxing match and was being badly beaten. Bleeding swollen, and bruised, he muttered to his trainer in between rounds, “Please throw in the towel! This guy is killing me!” The trainer said, “Oh no, he’s not. He’s not even hitting you. He hasn’t laid a glove on you yet!” With that, the boxer looked at him through swollen eyes and said, “Well then, I wish you’d watch that referee-somebody is sure hitting me!”

Though this article isn’t about spiritual warfare, Ephesians 6:12 tells us that our fight isn’t with mankind, “flesh and blood,” but against “spiritual forces of wickedness”! This is a clue into the direction that my mind is taking in this article. Some say that we should fight for our families; we should fight for the next generation.  Some even say that we should fight for our faith … standing toe-t0-toe with the liberal theologians (or the devil himself) when it comes to the virgin birth, the deity of Christ, the single source of salvation and only way to heaven being that of Jesus the Christ, or the revelation of scripture … but I don’t know. As resolute as I am on all of those matters (and Christ too for that matter), I don’t recall Christ ever once defending who he was or what he came to earth to do. Therefore, I have a hard time saying that we should fight for such things either. I’m not saying that I am not prepared to answer a question at any time but to enter into a debate for debate’s sake … I just don’t see how I could win anyone over to “my side” when I am red-faced and emotional at worst or stooping to their argumentative level at the least concerning such things.

In my next post, I’m going to list 13 things that we need to think about fighting for. If you were grouped with people similar to you and your standards, would you  fall into the ‘pacifist’ group or the ‘fighter’ group? How come?

Until later . . . Jonathan Watson

P.S. To see this series in it’s entirety, click the tag ‘Right or Rights.’ To see a little more about me, click here or about my overall blog, check this out. I love feedback (and work best with lots of it) so, please feel free to REPLY to anything I’ve written. Just scroll down to the “Leave a Reply” box and type away!  Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Our Battle

Please let me know what you're thinking.

